I never could get the hang of Thursdays


My return to the city
03/08/2009, 1:04 am
Filed under: Writings

The city drew me back in.

I trudged around drizzley alleys and caught the same busses, revisited my favourite haunts and met people.

I woke up on someone’s sofa still dressed and covered in a sheet, with only a bit of money, my phone and a hat. My shoes are black bright and my jacket close to tearing apart at the seems. Life in the crush is ten times as interesting as it is here.

Lots of time waiting with the same song stuck in my head, random drinks, crisps for breakfast and not washing. A book to read on the train and walking around town looking like a scruff with a hangover.

Then I returned to the country. Silence and the smell of cut grass with time to kill.

I had to go, even for the most fleeting of visits. There was too much to do and not enough time, but at least it was time well spent.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

