I never could get the hang of Thursdays


Catch-22
09/06/2009, 2:29 pm
Filed under: Books

I’m really enjoying this book, so I thought I’d quote a few bits for you.

“The enemy,” retorted Yossarian with weighted precision, “is anybody who’s going to get you killed, no matter which side he’s on, and that includes Colonel Cathcart. And don’t you forget that, because the longer you remember it, the longer you might live.”

“Catch-22…says you’ve always got to do what your commanding officer tells you to.”
“But Twenty-seventh Air Force says I can go home with forty missions.”
“But they don’t say you have to go home. And regulations do say you have to obey every order. That’s the catch. Even if the colonel were disobeying a Twenty-seventh Air Force order by making you fly more missions, you’d still have to fly them, or you’d be guilty of disobeying an order of his. And then the Twenty-seventh Air Force Headquarters would really jump on you.”

“I don’t think you have to call me “sir”, sir”, Lieutenant Scheisskopf pointed out. “You outrank me.”
“Yes, sir. I may outrank you, sir, but you’re still my commanding officer.”
“Yes, sir, that’s right,” Lieutenant Scheisskopf agreed. “You may outrank me, sir, but I’m still your commanding officer. So you better do what I tell you, sir, or you’ll get in trouble. Go to the hospital and tell them you’re sick, sir. Stay there until your uniform allowance catches up with you and you have some money to buy some uniforms.”
“Yes, sir.”
“And some shoes, sir. Buy some shoes the first chance you get, sir.”
“Yes, sir. I will, sir.”
“Thank you, sir.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

